Attention: For full functionality of this site, it is necessary to enable javascript. Here are the instructions to enable javascript in your web browser.
If you are unable to enable javascript, you can access the Sitemap.

Skip to main content
Since 1936

History & Leadership

We have an -year legacy of supporting education with a strong team of leaders.

Our History

CapEd has a rich history of serving our members. Our history started on February 1, 1936 when thirteen teachers joined together to start Boise Teachers Federal Credit Union. This was just two years after the Federal Credit Union Act was signed by President Franklin Delano Roosevelt during the Great Depression. By the end of the first year, the fledgling Credit Union had a total of $610 in loans and $596 in deposits.

On March 14, 1972, Boise Teachers Credit Union merged with Meridian Teachers Credit Union to form Capital Educators Federal Credit Union. A few years later, the first branch was built on Thunderbolt Drive in Boise. The next merger came on June 13, 2005 when CapEd welcomed Canyon Teachers Credit Union. It was in 2008 that the company name of "CapEd Credit Union" was adopted to market the growing Credit Union.

We're proud of our legacy of supporting teachers. Now we are over 86,000 strong, supporting teachers throughout Idaho. Through both the Idaho CapEd Foundation and , we work together to support education, empower individuals financially, and enrich the community.

Our Leadership

Some of those who help make CapEd such a wonderful Credit Union.

  Volunteer Board of Directors

Dr. Lawrence Neznanski

Chairman of the Board
Retired, Bishop Kelly High School

Joe Kelly

Board Vice-Chair
Retired, West Ada School District

Rainey Pieters

Board Treasurer
Retired, Boise School District

Barbara Olic-Hamilton

Board Secretary
Retired, Boise School District

Mark Eisenman

Board Member
Systemwide Chief Audit Executive, Idaho Board of Education

Dr. Linda Clark

Board Member
Retired, West Ada School District

Jane Kinn Buser

Board Member
Retired, Boise State University

Dave Lawrence

Board Member
Retired, Meridian School District

Carmen ‘Liz’ Correa, EA

Board Member
Tax Accountant, Knuff CPAs

Allison Westfall

Board Member
Communication Director, Kuna & Caldwell School Districts

Randy Dewey

Board Member
Director of Finance, Nampa School District

  Executive Leadership Team

Todd Erickson


Mike Hill

Executive Vice President & Chief Operations Officer

Richard Arnold

Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

Trudi Mayes

Senior Vice President, Member Service Experience

Todd Christensen

Senior Vice President, Advancement and Member Experience

Toby King

Senior Vice President & Chief Information Officer

Jessica Bevis

Senior Vice President, Branch Operations

Michele Sandberg

Senior Vice President, People Experience and Culture